Follow by Email

Tuesday, June 28, 2011

SPORTS: ICC allows 14 teams for 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup!

LEED Consultancy, Green Building Design, Green Homes, Green Factory Buildings, Green SEZs, Green Townships.
Have you read, “Mayhem of the Miserables!” available @

ESPNcricinfo staff Last updated on Tuesday, 28 June 2011 14:43.

Hong Kong: The 2015 World Cup will comprise of 14 teams, a change from the original ten-team format, which means the Associates are back in the competition, ESPNcricinfo has learned. Four Associate teams will line up alongside ten Full Members in Australia and New Zealand, just like it was during the 2011 World Cup. The decision to reinstate the Associates, which was taken on the third day of the ICC's annual conference in Hong Kong, is a reversal of the ICC's heavily-criticised move to restrict the 2015 tournament to the Full Members.

On Monday, the second day of the conference, the ICC's chief executives' committee (CEC) had recommended to the executive board that there be a qualifying tournament for the 2015 World Cup, giving the Associates hope. It did not specify the number of slots open to Associates though, nor did it recommend a change in the competition's format. The executive board acted on the CEC's recommendation and ensured Associate participation by expanding the tournament from 10 to 14 teams.

Full Story at,

No comments:

Post a Comment